top of page

Explorers - 14 to 18 Years

Quick Links

Try more. See More. Do More. At Explorers you'll stand on your own

two feet, and make memories that will last a lifetime. 

Explorers are a go-getting group of young people aged 14 to 18. Week in and week out, they gather in groups called Units to try new things, make new friends and conquer the small task of changing the world.

Explorers is open to all, and we can usually tweak things to make sure everyone can join in the fun. If you have any questions about accessibility, chat with us as soon as possible. More information on specific adjustments can be found here. 

Across Central Notts there are 7 Explorer Scout Units, which are overseen by the District Explorer Scout Commissioner. Current Units are:

For more information about each ESU please clik on the names above.

Can young people become Leaders?

Find your nearest Group

Looking to join Central Notts Scouts? Find your nearest Scout Group, and let the adventure begin...

Beaver awards.png

Badges & Awards

Completing awards challenges you to do more, learn more and be more. See what’s on offer and start your journey to the top…

Discover Awards >

Explore activity badges >


Moving to Network 

Eventually it will be time to say goodbye to Explorers and embrace your next adventure!

Find out more here >

Absolutely. If taking the lead sounds like something you’d like to try for yourself, sign up for the Explorer Scout Young Leader’s Scheme to get some hands-on experience volunteering with the younger Scout sections.


  • District Team
    District Commissioner Daniel Bolstridge ADC Beavers Henry Walker Kim District Cub Leader Vacant Fiona Smith District Scout Leader Mike Smith DESC Vacant District Scout Active Support Manager John Oliver Kirk Hellewell District Network Commissioner Savannah Storm Sam Farnsworth Campsite Warden Mark Woolley Training Adviser, Nights Away Adviser Steve Baker Phil Herriott
  • District Executive Committee
    District Chair William Powell-Perry District Minutes Secretary Janice Culley Oliver District Treasurer Roger Foxall District Appointments Chairman David Comerie District Exec Members Rebecca Darroch John Oliver Gordon Tunnicliffe Scot Riggans Kirk Hellewell District Execuitive Member (18-25 Rep) Holly Barlow Laura Wilson District Youth Commissioner Sam Farnsworth
  • Explorers
    Spartan ESU - 2nd Arnold, Friday Richard Alton Colliers ESU - 1st Calverton, Tuesday Scott Riggans Gemini ESU - 1st Gedling, Friday Howard De Jonge Peppers ESU - 3rd Woodthorpe, Thursday Robert Powley Matthew Etchells-Jones Stephen Martin Invictus ESU - Southwell, Tuesday Lisa Farnsworth Endeavour ESU - 1st Burton Joyce, Monday Stephen Robinson Mammoth ESU Chris Clifford Young Leaders Rebecca Darroch
  • Scout Active Support Unit
    District Scout Active Support Manager John Oliver Finance Coordinator Tony Thorpe
  • Bands
    Steve Baker
  • 1st Arnold and Woodthorpe
    Group Scout Leader James Dennis Patricia Jefford Ann Dennis David Chambers
  • 2nd Arnold
    Group Scout Leader Yan Ahmet Suzanne Barlow Fiona Hammond Dianne Yeatman Matt Smith Annabel Alton Contact GSL
  • 1st Burton Joyce
    Group Scout Leader Andrew Kearsley Dawn Kearsley
  • 1st Calverton
    Group Scout Leader Graham Batty Megan Goddard Kayleigh Johnson Luke Shaw Fran Ball
  • 1st Farnsfield
    Group Scout Leader Chris Blockley Peter Carter Laura Cracknell Richard Sneade Diane Waller
  • 1st Gedling
    Group Scout Leader Jim Simpson David Fox Tracy Dodds Janice Kerry Andrew Stranger
  • 1st Porchester
    Group Scout Leader Ian Holliday Cameron Stillings David Marriott Ann Baldry Wez Hill
  • 1st Redhill
    Group Scout Leader John Carvin John Carvin Heather Hirst John Evens
  • 1st Colwick
    Group Scout Leader Mark Woolley Chris Drake Vicki West Emma Hickman Paul Spinks
  • 1st Trentside
    Group Scout Leader Aimee Stonard Andrew MacDonald Laura Meadows Michael Eaton Aimee Stonard Jodie Merrington
  • 1st Woodborough
    Group Scout Leader Sarah De Barr Tina Ibell Cindy Bamford Richard Janes Leslie Charlton
  • 3rd Netherfield
    Group Scout Leader Vacant Vacant Sharon Leaper Vacant
  • 3rd Woodthorpe
    Group Scout Leader
  • 4th Carlton
    Group Scout Leader
  • 5th Carlton
    Group Scout Leader
  • Southwell
    Group Scout Leader
  • 1st Daybrook and Woodthorpe
    Group Scout Leader
bottom of page