top of page
340738440_1658710931231307_3618839562186882402_n.jpg

Explorers - 14 to 18 Years

Quick Links

Try more. See More. Do More. At Explorers you'll stand on your own

two feet, and make memories that will last a lifetime. 

Explorers are a go-getting group of young people aged 14 to 18. Week in and week out, they gather in groups called Units to try new things, make new friends and conquer the small task of changing the world.

Explorers is open to all, and we can usually tweak things to make sure everyone can join in the fun. If you have any questions about accessibility, chat with us as soon as possible. More information on specific adjustments can be found here. 

Across Central Notts there are 7 Explorer Scout Units, which are overseen by the District Explorer Scout Commissioner. Current Units are:

For more information about each ESU please clik on the names above.

Can young people become Leaders?

Find your nearest Group

Looking to join Central Notts Scouts? Find your nearest Scout Group, and let the adventure begin...

Beaver awards.png

Badges & Awards

Completing awards challenges you to do more, learn more and be more. See what’s on offer and start your journey to the top…

Discover Awards >

Explore activity badges >

cubs-outdoors-with-anita-rani-jpg.jpg

Moving to Network 

Eventually it will be time to say goodbye to Explorers and embrace your next adventure!

Find out more here >

Absolutely. If taking the lead sounds like something you’d like to try for yourself, sign up for the Explorer Scout Young Leader’s Scheme to get some hands-on experience volunteering with the younger Scout sections.

Questions

  • District Team
    District Commissioner Daniel Bolstridge daniel.bolstridge@ntlworld.com ADC Beavers Henry Walker scouts@hehw.co.uk Kim Dimkim1982@hotmail.co.uk District Cub Leader Vacant Fiona Smith fgreen2000@hotmail.com District Scout Leader Mike Smith msmith@markem-imaje.com DESC Vacant District Scout Active Support Manager John Oliver janiceculley@ntlworld.com Kirk Hellewell kirkhellewell2@gmail.com District Network Commissioner Savannah Storm savvanahlouisastorm@outlook.com Sam Farnsworth sfarnsworth@sky.com Campsite Warden Mark Woolley Info@sherbrookescoutcampsite.co.uk Training Adviser, Nights Away Adviser Steve Baker steve.baker1953@ntlworld.com Phil Herriott p.herriot@virginmedia.com
  • District Executive Committee
    District Chair William Powell-Perry william.powellperry@btinternet.com District Minutes Secretary Janice Culley Oliver janiceculley@ntlworld.com District Treasurer Roger Foxall roger.foxall@tiscali.co.uk District Appointments Chairman David Comerie david.comerie01@btinternet.com District Exec Members Rebecca Darroch rebecca@darroch.co.uk John Oliver janiceculley@ntlworld.com Gordon Tunnicliffe pam.gord@outlook.com Scot Riggans scotriggans@hotmail.com Kirk Hellewell kirkhellewell2@gmail.com District Execuitive Member (18-25 Rep) Holly Barlow hollybarlow1@virginmedia.com Laura Wilson laura070299@gmail.com District Youth Commissioner Sam Farnsworth sfarnsworth@sky.com
  • Explorers
    Spartan ESU - 2nd Arnold, Friday Richard Alton richandab@ntlworld.com Colliers ESU - 1st Calverton, Tuesday Scott Riggans scotriggans@hotmail.com Gemini ESU - 1st Gedling, Friday Howard De Jonge howeard.dejonge@ntlworld.com Peppers ESU - 3rd Woodthorpe, Thursday Robert Powley grumbybrainsurgeon@hotmail.com Matthew Etchells-Jones Stephen Martin stephen.martin67@ntlworld.com Invictus ESU - Southwell, Tuesday Lisa Farnsworth l.farnsworth@stormsaver.com Endeavour ESU - 1st Burton Joyce, Monday Stephen Robinson stephen.robinson01@hotmail.co.uk Mammoth ESU Chris Clifford chris@cjclifford.co.uk Young Leaders Rebecca Darroch rebecca@darroch.co.uk
  • Scout Active Support Unit
    District Scout Active Support Manager John Oliver janiceculley@ntlworld.com Finance Coordinator Tony Thorpe thorpe.a@sky.com
  • Bands
    Steve Baker steve.baker1953@ntlworld.com
  • 1st Arnold and Woodthorpe
    Group Scout Leader James Dennis potterscrazed@hotmail.com Patricia Jefford patjefford@yahoo.co.uk Ann Dennis a.dennis80@hotmail.com David Chambers davidchambers.1@btinternet.com
  • 2nd Arnold
    Group Scout Leader Yan Ahmet yanmaria.ahmet@ntlworld.com Suzanne Barlow jezandsusibarlow@btopenworld.com Fiona Hammond fionahammondlz@gmail.com Dianne Yeatman dianne.yeatman2@ntlworld.com Matt Smith thesmiths@live.co.uk Annabel Alton richandab@ntlworld.com Contact GSL
  • 1st Burton Joyce
    Group Scout Leader Andrew Kearsley andykearsley@btinternet.com Dawn Kearsley dhbraithwaite@hotmail.com
  • 1st Calverton
    Group Scout Leader Graham Batty grahambatty07@aol.com Megan Goddard megangoddard@hotmail.co.uk Kayleigh Johnson kayleigh_johnson97@hotmail.co.uk Luke Shaw scouts@lshaw.co.uk Fran Ball fran.ball@hotmail.co.uk
  • 1st Farnsfield
    Group Scout Leader Chris Blockley chrisblockley@netyour.info Peter Carter peter.auor@btinternet.com Laura Cracknell law3434@hotmail.com Richard Sneade sneade-r@nsk.com Diane Waller diane@arnoldbalfourcc.co.uk
  • 1st Gedling
    Group Scout Leader Jim Simpson james.simpson4@ntlworld.com David Fox david.fox.33@ntlworld.com Tracy Dodds tracy.dodds2@ntlworld.com Janice Kerry janice.kerry@sky.com Andrew Stranger andy.stanger@ntlworld.com
  • 1st Porchester
    Group Scout Leader Ian Holliday iandavid.holliday@ntlworld.com Cameron Stillings camsafe@ntlworld.com David Marriott Ann Baldry ann.baldry@ntlworld.com Wez Hill wezhill@ntlworld.com
  • 1st Redhill
    Group Scout Leader John Carvin john.carvin@btinternet.com John Carvin john.carvin@btinternet.com Heather Hirst heatherhirst8@hotmail.co.uk John Evens j.evens@ntlworld.com
  • 1st Colwick
    Group Scout Leader Mark Woolley markw.scouts@gmail.com Chris Drake chrisdrake@ntlworld.com Vicki West vickiwest@hotmail.co.uk Emma Hickman 9hickman@gmail.com Paul Spinks paul-spinks@virginmedia.com
  • 1st Trentside
    Group Scout Leader Aimee Stonard aimee.stonard@hotmail.co.uk Andrew MacDonald na246@btinternet.com Laura Meadows laura.meadows2@hotmail.co.uk Michael Eaton notalotuk2@hotmail.com Aimee Stonard aimee.stonard@hotmail.co.uk Jodie Merrington jodi.merrington@hotmail.co.uk
  • 1st Woodborough
    Group Scout Leader Sarah De Barr sdebarr@tiscali.co.uk Tina Ibell ibells@ntlworld.com Cindy Bamford stevecindybamford@yahoo.co.uk Richard Janes richardjanes@btinternet.com Leslie Charlton charltons@live.co.uk
  • 3rd Netherfield
    Group Scout Leader Vacant Vacant Sharon Leaper Vacant
  • 3rd Woodthorpe
    Group Scout Leader
  • 4th Carlton
    Group Scout Leader
  • 5th Carlton
    Group Scout Leader
  • Southwell
    Group Scout Leader
  • 1st Daybrook and Woodthorpe
    Group Scout Leader
bottom of page