top of page

Top Awards

Throughout their time in the movement, all young people are encouraged to try their best. As part of this, all of the Leaders across Central Notts aim to support and help all of our members achieve their top awards.


Members in all sections are eligible for such awards, the content below sets out the requirements for those awards.

Chief Scout Awards

The Chief Scout’s BronzeSilver and Gold Award are the highest awards in the Beaver, Cub and Scout sections respectively.

To complete them you need to complete all of the challenge awards for that section, together with a set number (four in Beavers, six in Cubs and Scouts) of activity or staged activity badges of your choice.

The Chief Scout’s Platinum and Diamond Awards are progressive, meaning you can achieve these as you work towards the Queen’s Scout Award. (The Platinum Award is only available to Explorers, while the Diamond Award is available to Explorers and Scout Network members.)

For more details, please click on a badge below to be directed to the Scout Association's requirement pages:


Chief Scout

Bronze Award

Chief Scout Silver Award.png

Chief Scout

Silver Award


Chief Scout

Gold Award


Chief Scout

Platinum Award


Chief Scout

Diamond Award

King's Scout Award


There are few challenges more prestigious than the King’s Scout Award – it’s the highest award available to young people in Scouting. This one really is a badge to wear with pride.


You must be aged between 16–25 years old to complete the King’s Scout Award and be a member of Explorers or Scout Network for at least 18 months from the date you started to achieve the award.

For full details, please visit:

Duke of Edinburgh Award


Whilst working towards achieving the Chief Scout's Platinum, Chief Scout's Diamond, and Queen's Scout Award, Explorer Scouts and Network members can also work towards their Duke of Edinburgh Awards. 

The Duke of Edinburgh (DofE) Bronze, Silver and Gold awards, are an almost perfect match for the above awards, as the challenges mirror the sections of the DofE programme.

For full details please visit:

Additional Awards

Explorer Belt

Ex-Explorer Belt-Badge-RGB.jpg

The Explorer Belt is the challenge of a lifetime. It involves exploring another country, its culture, customs and way of life. You can take on the challenge as an Explorer or as a Scout Network member. Explorers must complete the Explorer Belt by taking part in a centrally organised trip to ensure they have the support needed as you plan and complete your expedition.

For more details on how to gain this award, please visit

Scouts of the World Award


The Scouts of the World Award (SOWA) is an award shared with over 50 national Scout Associations. In the UK it’s only available to Scout Network members, with the aim of encouraging you to develop and support society, locally or globally. 


SOWA is provided and supported by The Scout Association, but is managed and delivered by a national Scout Active Support Unit. SOWA enables members to develop a range of skills from project management to planning a voluntary service. Many of these will benefit members both inside and out of Scouting. The experience will show that you can implement change and work to improve the lives or environment of other people.

For more details, please visit

bottom of page