top of page


Ages 4 - 5 Years

Squirrels are our newest and youngest Section in Scouts. 

There are plenty of reasons to get stuck in, as Squirrels gives young people the chance to:

- Make friends

- Have fun outdoors

- Learn new things

- Earn Badges

Please be aware Squirrels may not be open in your community just yet, but you can still let us know of your interest in volunteering now. 



Ages 6 - 8 Years

Beavers are the Second youngest Section in the Scouting Movement. Beavers meet weekly and take part in a wide range of activities including crafts, games, visits and lots of outdoor activities.

Beavers also have the opportunity to take part and have the fun and excitement of camps and sleepovers. Beavers is usually the first time they spend a night away from home, so can be a real adventure for them. 



Ages 8 - 10½ Years

In the Cub Section, adventure and excitement are key. Their programme offers a wide variety of activities surrounding areas of fitness, global and beliefs whilst allowing them to be creative and get involved with their local communities.

Cubs are introduced to exciting outdoor skills and take part in adventurous activities, as well as camps and residential experiences.



Ages 10½ - 14 Years

Each Scout Troop consists of small units of six to eight Scouts called a Patrol, usually led by a Patrol Leader. Outdoor activities feature prominently, with the highlight being camping. Throughout the year, Scouts learn various skills, such as map reading, camp cooking and first aid in preparation for camp. 


Rock climbing, potholing, gliding, photography and international experiences are just some of the things they get up to.


Ages 14 - 18 Years

Explorers are encouraged to lead themselves in deciding the programme and direction of the Unit, with support and guidance from leaders. The section also includes the Young Leaders’ Scheme, where young people are able to take on a leadership role in one of the younger sections.


There is wider scope for activities like offshore sailing, campaigning, performing, parascending, mountaineering and expeditions.

In Central Notts there are 7 Explorer Scout Units, please click on the buttons below for meeting details.



Ages 18 - 25 Years

Scout Network is the fifth and final section of the Scouting movement. Scout Network members take part in a variety of activities which they undertake and organise themselves with the support of a Scout Network Leader.


Example activities include abseiling, camping, circus skills, climbing, go-karting, gorge walking, hiking, pioneering and watersports.

bottom of page